RYZE vs BrewLune: Taste, Price and What Each Label Tells You
In one line
RYZE vs BrewLune: BrewLune is the better cup because it beats RYZE on taste and on disclosure, stating 1,500 mg across four fruiting-body mushrooms where RYZE gives only a blend total. RYZE, however, is organic, in Target and on store shelves, while BrewLune sells direct only in small batches.
What this page covers
- RYZE original instant vs BrewLune Dawn Patrol
- Taste, price per cup, caffeine, disclosure, certification and availability
What it does not cover
- RYZE's matcha and cacao lines
- BrewLune's other three blends
Side by side
| RYZE | BrewLune | |
|---|---|---|
| Overall score | 3.4 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Price | $36.00 / 30 | $34.00 / 30 |
| Per serving | $1.20 | $1.13 |
| Caffeine | 48 mg | 48 mg |
| Mushrooms | lions mane, cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, shiitake, king trumpet | lions mane, cordyceps, chaga, reishi |
| Doses disclosed per species | No | Yes |
| Beta-glucans disclosed | No | Yes |
| Third-party tested | Not stated | Not stated |
| Formats | instant | instant |
| Taste & drinkability | 4.5 | 5.0 |
| Ingredient quality | 3.5 | 4.5 |
| Label transparency | 2.5 | 5.0 |
| Price per serving | 4.5 | 4.0 |
| Third-party lab testing | 2.5 | 2.0 |
| Mushroom dosage | 3.0 | 4.0 |
Choose RYZE if…
- You want to buy in a store today — RYZE is in 1,900+ Target locations
- You want USDA Organic on the finished product
- You prefer a creamy, coconut-MCT cup to black coffee
Choose BrewLune if…
- You want the best-tasting cup and would drink it black
- You want per-mushroom doses and fruiting body stated on the label
- You want cordyceps at a stated 400 mg rather than an unknown share of a blend
The short version
RYZE is the mushroom coffee most people start with, and for good reason: it's smooth, organic, cheap and on a Target shelf. BrewLune is a 2025 start-up that does the two things RYZE doesn't — tastes like actual coffee and prints every dose on the label — at a slightly lower price. It also sells direct only, in small batches that sell through.
Where each wins
Taste: BrewLune if you like coffee; RYZE if you like a creamy latte. Disclosure: BrewLune. Price: BrewLune by seven cents. Certification: RYZE (USDA Organic on the finished product). Testing: neither has a public COA we could find; RYZE has scale, BrewLune has a promise. Availability: RYZE, completely.
Our pick
BrewLune on the merits; RYZE if you want it from a store shelf today. Full reviews: RYZE and BrewLune, and the overall ranking.
RYZE
RYZE mushroom coffee is the safest first mushroom coffee: smooth, cheap per cup at $1.20, organic and easy to find at Target, with 48 mg caffeine. But it discloses only a 2,000 mg six-mushroom blend total, with no per-mushroom doses, so you can't tell how much lion's mane you're actually getting, and we found no published COA.
$36.00 · $1.20/serving · 48 mg caffeine
We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
BrewLune
BrewLune mushroom coffee (Dawn Patrol) is the best-tasting mushroom coffee we have tried and the best-disclosed instant we track: 500 mg lion's mane, 400 mg cordyceps, 300 mg chaga and 300 mg reishi, all fruiting body, at $1.13 a cup. It is sold direct in small batches (check availability) and has not yet published a certificate of analysis.
$34.00 · $1.13/serving · 48 mg caffeine
Both brands in one table
Frequently asked questions
Is BrewLune better than RYZE?
On taste and transparency, yes. BrewLune tastes like a clean medium roast and lists 500 mg lion's mane, 400 mg cordyceps, 300 mg chaga and 300 mg reishi per cup. RYZE tastes creamier and lists a 2,000 mg six-mushroom total without saying how much of each. RYZE wins on availability and organic certification.
Which has more caffeine, RYZE or BrewLune?
Effectively the same: RYZE lists 48 mg per serving and BrewLune Dawn Patrol 48 mg. Both are about half a standard brewed cup. BrewLune's Point Break blend runs 95 mg if you want a full-strength option.
Which is cheaper?
BrewLune at $1.13 per cup one-time ($34 for 30) edges RYZE at $1.20 ($36 for 30). Both are cheaper on subscription. The difference is small enough that availability, not price, should decide between them.
Which has more mushrooms?
RYZE lists more total — 2,000 mg across six species — but does not disclose the split. BrewLune lists 1,500 mg across four species with each amount stated. If you care about a specific mushroom, only BrewLune tells you what you are getting.
Sources
- RYZE product page — RYZE price, servings, caffeine and blend total
- BrewLune — Mushroom coffee dosage comparison — BrewLune per-mushroom doses, caffeine and price