Is Peak State Coffee Good? Whole-Bean Mushroom Coffee Reviewed
In one line
Peak State mushroom coffee is the choice if you want specialty whole-bean coffee carrying a mushroom extract: B Corp, Regenerative Organic and third-party tested, at $1.36 a serving. But 500 mg per cup split across lion's mane and cordyceps is a small dose, and caffeine is not stated in mg, so our 95 mg figure is an unverified estimate.
- Price
- $29.95 / 22 servings
- Per serving
- $1.36
- Caffeine
- 95 mg (est.)
- Mushrooms
- 2 species · 500 mg
- Part used
- fruiting body
- Beta-glucans disclosed
- No
- 3rd-party tested
- Yes
- Format
- whole bean, ground
Figures marked (est.) — caffeine — are our estimates because the brand does not publish them. Scores that depend on them will be revised when the brand does.
What this page covers
- Brain Sustain light roast (Ethiopia) 12 oz at one-time pricing
- Sourcing and certification claims
- What 500 mg per cup means against the research
What it does not cover
- The Immunity Boost, Stress Less and decaf SKUs in detail
- Peak State's instant and cold-brew products
Peak State Coffee
Peak State mushroom coffee is the choice if you want specialty whole-bean coffee carrying a mushroom extract: B Corp, Regenerative Organic and third-party tested, at $1.36 a serving. But 500 mg per cup split across lion's mane and cordyceps is a small dose, and caffeine is not stated in mg, so our 95 mg figure is an unverified estimate.
$29.95 · $1.36/serving · 95 mg caffeine (est.)
We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
What's on the label vs. what the research used
| Mushroom | Label dose / serving | Part used | Dose in named human studies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lion's Mane | part of 500 mg blend | fruiting body | 1,000–3,000 mg/day |
| Cordyceps | part of 500 mg blend | fruiting body | 1,000–4,000 mg/day |
Why it's on our radar
Peak State calls itself the first whole-bean coffee with functional mushrooms, and it comes with a sourcing story most instants cannot match: single-origin lots, Fair Trade, Regenerative Organic Certified on some origins, B Corp status and mushrooms from a named Colorado farm. It is the brand for people who already buy good beans and want a mushroom add-on without a powder.
Taste
Our two-week test is still under way, so this section draws on the ingredient list and reviewer reports. Because the extract is infused after roasting at a small ratio, reviewers consistently describe the coffee as tasting like its origin — bright citrus and berry in the Ethiopian light roast, chocolate in the Guatemalan medium — with no detectable mushroom flavour. That is the expected outcome at 500 mg per cup; it is also a sign of how little mushroom is there.
Price and value
$29.95 for a 12 oz bag rated at 22 cups is $1.36 per cup at the one-time price, $1.09 on subscription. That is fair for specialty coffee with these certifications, and expensive as a mushroom supplement.
Transparency
Middle of the pack. Peak State states fruiting body, the extraction, the farm, and a blend total, and claims testing for potency, mold and heavy metals. It does not split the 500 mg between species, does not print beta-glucan content, and does not publish COAs. It also does not give a caffeine figure; the 95 mg we list is a standard-brew estimate, not a brand number.
Verdict
Buy it as coffee with a bonus and you will be happy. Buy it as a lion's mane delivery system and you will be getting about a quarter of the lowest trial dose per cup.
Peak State Coffee
Peak State mushroom coffee is the choice if you want specialty whole-bean coffee carrying a mushroom extract: B Corp, Regenerative Organic and third-party tested, at $1.36 a serving. But 500 mg per cup split across lion's mane and cordyceps is a small dose, and caffeine is not stated in mg, so our 95 mg figure is an unverified estimate.
$29.95 · $1.36/serving · 95 mg caffeine (est.)
We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.
Frequently asked questions
How much mushroom is in Peak State Coffee?
Peak State states 500 mg of fruiting-body mushroom extract per 8 oz cup. In the Brain Sustain roast that is lion's mane and cordyceps; other roasts use different pairs from a five-species list. The label does not split the 500 mg between species, so assume roughly 250 mg each.
How much caffeine is in Peak State Coffee?
Peak State does not publish a milligram figure. Because it is real whole-bean or ground arabica rather than a diluted instant, a normal 8 oz brew should land near a standard cup, around 90–100 mg. The Calm Descent SKU is a water-process decaf if you want the mushrooms without the caffeine.
How does Peak State add mushrooms to whole beans?
The mushrooms are grown at MycoLove Farms in Colorado, made into a fruiting-body liquid extract and infused onto the beans after roasting. Because extraction has already been done, the compounds are meant to dissolve in your brew rather than staying in the grounds. Peak State says batches are tested for potency, mold and heavy metals.
How much does Peak State cost per cup?
A 12 oz bag is $29.95 at the one-time price and Peak State rates it at 22 cups, so about $1.36 per cup. Subscriptions take 20% off to $23.96, and 5 lb bags bring the per-cup price down further for heavy drinkers.
Sources
- Peak State Brain Sustain Light Roast (Ethiopia) product page — Price, 22 cups per bag, 500 mg fruiting-body extract per cup, lion's mane and cordyceps, certifications and testing claims
- Peak State Coffee With Benefits collection — Full SKU list, formats, five-species list, bulk pricing