Peak Performance Mushroom Coffee Review: Organic Five-Mushroom Pods With No Dose on the Label

By , MD, FACOG·

In one line

Peak Performance mushroom coffee is a well-sourced organic coffee pod: single-origin, fair-trade Guatemalan, low acid and third-party tested, at about $1.50 a pod. Its five mushrooms are added in undisclosed amounts, and caffeine per pod is not stated, so our 100 mg figure is an estimate, making it a coffee first and a mushroom product only nominally.

Price
$26.95 / 18 servings
Per serving
$1.50
Caffeine
100 mg (est.)
Mushrooms
5 species
Part used
undisclosed
Beta-glucans disclosed
No
3rd-party tested
Yes
Format
pods, ground

Figures marked (est.) — caffeine — are our estimates because the brand does not publish them. Scores that depend on them will be revised when the brand does.

What this page covers

  • The Organic Mushroom Coffee Pods, 18-count box
  • What the label discloses and what it does not
  • Price per serving for pods versus the ground bag

What it does not cover

  • Peak Performance's plain organic coffees, supplements or Nespresso capsules
  • The high-caffeine pod variant beyond its price
Our verdict

Peak Performance

Peak Performance mushroom coffee is a well-sourced organic coffee pod: single-origin, fair-trade Guatemalan, low acid and third-party tested, at about $1.50 a pod. Its five mushrooms are added in undisclosed amounts, and caffeine per pod is not stated, so our 100 mg figure is an estimate, making it a coffee first and a mushroom product only nominally.

$26.95 · $1.50/serving · 100 mg caffeine (est.)

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.

Our scorecard
2.6 / 5
  • Taste & drinkability3.5
  • Ingredient quality3.5
  • Label transparency1.0
  • Price per serving3.5
  • Third-party lab testing3.0
  • Mushroom dosage1.0

Scored on our six criteria — how we test.

What we liked
  • USDA Organic, fair-trade, single-origin high-altitude Guatemalan coffee — better bean sourcing than most of the category
  • States that products are third-party tested by a US lab; pods are recyclable and fit any K-Cup brewer
  • Standard and high-caffeine pod versions plus a 10 oz ground bag, all around $1.50 per serving
What held it back
  • No milligram figure for any mushroom, no blend total, and no statement of fruiting body versus mycelium
  • Caffeine per pod is not stated on the product page; we estimate a standard K-Cup's ~100 mg
  • The brand has moved ordering to Amazon, and the Amazon listing is no more forthcoming
Who should skip it
  • You want any idea of your mushroom dose — this label gives none
  • You are buying for the cordyceps; there is no evidence on the label that it is more than a trace

What's on the label vs. what the research used

MushroomLabel dose / servingPart usedDose in named human studies
Lion's Manenot disclosedundisclosed1,000–3,000 mg/day
Reishinot disclosedundisclosed1,400–5,400 mg/day of extract
Cordycepsnot disclosedundisclosed1,000–4,000 mg/day
Turkey Tailnot disclosedundisclosed~3,000 mg/day of PSK extract
Chaganot disclosedundisclosedNo completed human RCTs

Good coffee, unknown mushrooms

Peak Performance is a supplement company that also roasts coffee, and its mushroom pods read like a coffee product with five mushrooms attached. The sourcing is genuinely strong: USDA Organic, fair trade, single-origin Guatemalan beans grown at altitude, in recyclable pods that fit any K-Cup machine. The brand explains at length why organic matters for coffee. It says nothing about how much of any mushroom is in the pod.

Taste

Because this is a normal organic medium roast brewed through a standard pod, reviewers consistently describe it as a smooth, low-acid cup with a light earthiness that most people would not identify as mushroom. Reports of a noticeable "mushroom taste" are rare, which is consistent with a small extract load. It behaves like a good grocery-store K-Cup, which is a compliment to the coffee and a hint about the mushrooms.

Price and value

$26.95 for 18 pods is about $1.50 a serving; the 72-count box brings it to $1.19. The 10 oz ground bag is sold through Amazon, where we could not verify a current price. For organic, fair-trade, single-origin pods that is competitive with plain specialty pod coffee, so you are not paying much of a mushroom premium — which is fitting.

Transparency

Our lowest score in the category. There is no milligram figure for any species, no blend total, no fruiting-body-versus-mycelium statement, no beta-glucan content, and no caffeine figure. The third-party testing claim is stated but nothing is published. The brief we set ourselves for this brand was "cordyceps-forward"; the label gives no basis for that or for any claim about relative amounts. We treat all five mushrooms as trace additions until the company says otherwise.

Verdict

Buy it as a well-sourced organic pod coffee with an undisclosed mushroom garnish. Do not buy it for the mushrooms. Anyone who wants a real dose should look at VitaCup (500 mg lion's mane, stated) or MUD\WTR.

Peak Performance

Peak Performance mushroom coffee is a well-sourced organic coffee pod: single-origin, fair-trade Guatemalan, low acid and third-party tested, at about $1.50 a pod. Its five mushrooms are added in undisclosed amounts, and caffeine per pod is not stated, so our 100 mg figure is an estimate, making it a coffee first and a mushroom product only nominally.

$26.95 · $1.50/serving · 100 mg caffeine (est.)

Check price on Amazon

We may earn a commission, at no cost to you.

Frequently asked questions

How much caffeine is in Peak Performance mushroom coffee?

Peak Performance does not state a caffeine figure on its product page. The pods are ordinary organic medium-roast coffee rather than a diluted instant blend, so expect roughly 100 mg per pod, in line with a standard K-Cup. The brand also sells a separately labelled high-caffeine version of the same pods.

How much lion's mane is in Peak Performance mushroom coffee?

The label does not say. Peak Performance lists lion's mane, reishi, cordyceps, turkey tail and chaga as ingredients but gives no milligrams per mushroom, no blend total, and no indication of whether the material is fruiting body or mycelium. It is the least transparent label among the brands we review.

Is Peak Performance mushroom coffee organic?

Yes. The pods and the 10 oz ground bag are USDA Certified Organic and fair trade, made from single-origin Guatemalan beans grown at high altitude. The brand also states that its products are third-party tested by a lab in the United States, although it does not publish the results.

How much does Peak Performance mushroom coffee cost?

An 18-count box of pods is $26.95 on the brand's site, or about $1.50 per pod; the 72-count box is $85.95, or $1.19 each. The high-caffeine version is a dollar more. Peak Performance notes it has moved fulfilment to Amazon, where prices can differ from the figures on its own site.

Sources

  1. Peak Performance Organic Mushroom Coffee Pods product pagePrice for 18- and 72-count boxes, five-mushroom list, USDA Organic and fair-trade claims, third-party tested claim, note that ordering has moved to Amazon, absence of any mg or caffeine figures
  2. Peak Performance — Best Organic Mushroom Coffee Blends (brand blog)Existence of the medium roast ground format