# Peak State Coffee Mushroom Coffee — review data Source: https://mushroomcoffeelab.com/reviews/peak-state/ Last updated: 2026-08-28 ## Verdict Peak State mushroom coffee is the choice if you want specialty whole-bean coffee carrying a mushroom extract: B Corp, Regenerative Organic and third-party tested, at $1.36 a serving. But 500 mg per cup split across lion's mane and cordyceps is a small dose, and caffeine is not stated in mg, so our 95 mg figure is an unverified estimate. Overall score: 3.3/5 (taste 4, ingredients 4.5, transparency 3, value 3, lab testing 3.5, dosage 2) ## Facts - Brand website: https://peakstatecoffee.com/ - Price: $29.95 USD for 22 servings ($1.36 per serving) - Caffeine per serving: 95 mg - Formats: whole-bean, ground - Beta-glucan content disclosed: no - Third-party tested: yes - Organic: yes - Total mushroom blend per serving: 500 mg ## Mushrooms per serving - Lion's Mane: dose not disclosed, fruiting-body (human studies used 1,000–3,000 mg/day) - Cordyceps: dose not disclosed, fruiting-body (human studies used 1,000–4,000 mg/day) ## Pros - Single-origin, Fair Trade, Regenerative Organic Certified beans from a certified B Corp — the strongest sourcing credentials in the category - Fruiting-body liquid extract from a Colorado farm, applied after roasting, so the coffee tastes like coffee - Sold as whole bean, ground and 5 lb bulk, with a decaf SKU ## Cons - 500 mg of extract per cup across two mushrooms is about 250 mg each, roughly a quarter of the lowest studied lion's mane dose - Caffeine is not stated in mg; we have assumed a standard brewed cup (about 95 mg), which is unverified - The mushroom amount is a blend total; the per-species split is not on the label ## Skip it if - You want a meaningful mushroom dose — pick a brand that gets to gram-level - You want low caffeine; this brews like a regular cup ## FAQ Q: How much mushroom is in Peak State Coffee? A: Peak State states 500 mg of fruiting-body mushroom extract per 8 oz cup. In the Brain Sustain roast that is lion's mane and cordyceps; other roasts use different pairs from a five-species list. The label does not split the 500 mg between species, so assume roughly 250 mg each. Q: How much caffeine is in Peak State Coffee? A: Peak State does not publish a milligram figure. Because it is real whole-bean or ground arabica rather than a diluted instant, a normal 8 oz brew should land near a standard cup, around 90–100 mg. The Calm Descent SKU is a water-process decaf if you want the mushrooms without the caffeine. Q: How does Peak State add mushrooms to whole beans? A: The mushrooms are grown at MycoLove Farms in Colorado, made into a fruiting-body liquid extract and infused onto the beans after roasting. Because extraction has already been done, the compounds are meant to dissolve in your brew rather than staying in the grounds. Peak State says batches are tested for potency, mold and heavy metals. Q: How much does Peak State cost per cup? A: A 12 oz bag is $29.95 at the one-time price and Peak State rates it at 22 cups, so about $1.36 per cup. Subscriptions take 20% off to $23.96, and 5 lb bags bring the per-cup price down further for heavy drinkers.